The Writer’s Platform: Time to Struggle

It is that time of the year again, where I try to figure out what I’m doing with my literary career. Sorry, my ‘literary career’. It should probably have two sets of air quotes, just to emphasize how minuscule of a thing I’m talking about. It is important to keep saying it though, for the purposes of self-motivation.

It is the same reason I have to continue editing day by day. If I give myself that one opening to not edit, I will just stop. Then 6 months later I will wake up in a cold sweat and realize that I haven’t edited a thing. My interim self won’t care, it will be too busy playing video games and watching cartoons meant for people half my age. The end point Marshall, this Future-Marshall, that guy is going to be livid about it.

So I have to try, at least to make up things to Future-Self. Which means I should continue expanding my Writer’s Platform. I’ve talked about this before, the idea that a writer has to spread themselves out everywhere they can just to get the attention necessary to ever be recognized.

Realize that even front line comic book writers like Brian Michael Bendis, has a Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, and probably more beyond that. This is a guy who has his audience down, few people question who he is. Same with Neil Gaiman, a fantastic fiction author, who has more social presence than you can shake a stick at.

So you can imagine how important it is, when you are trying to wiggle your way into the crowded mind of readers, to have a social media presence. Me, I have this blog, a twitter I barely use, a tumblr that echoes this blog most of the time, and nothing much else. I have personal G+ and Facebook pages, but not ‘fan’ pages. 

Why? Well, I don’t have ‘fans’. So it seems sort of presumptuous to create a fan page. I mean, I know people who have done so, I have a DJ friend who has a fan page, and I’m sure he didn’t start it when he already had people clamoring for his music. Still, something inside me makes it difficult to create such a page when I have nothing to show on it. Maybe I better release some work first. Start self-publishing some short stories?

My Pseudonym could have a fan page. It has two stories on Amazon, and more will probably come. Unfortunately, I don’t have enough mental strength to maintain TWO platforms at once.

It is a comedy of errors, which is me just saying that I’m screwing up in a way that would impress other screw ups. 

I’ll be back later with more posts that make fun of bad logic, right now I just want to go in a corner and take the fetal position while I think about writing.

Tell me what you think

