Trying Out Being Organized

Not a lot to say. I’m trying to get my thoughts together for some novel editing. Trying to get my thoughts together to make my life work. Really, the last week has just been a lot of trying not to be trash.

It isn’t going so well.

One victory though, the program known as yWriter. Well, victory so far. It allows me to organize out my novels in a way that makes it easy to create notes, understand where stuff went wrong, and make systematic changes across the novel. Like, when I accidentally call a character Dedric one place, and Dedrick another. This is a thing that happened, I felt pretty sad. Most of my novels (read, all of them), have been written as part of a NaNoWriMo project, so I tend to just write in one long spree. So when I miss a detail, or a character returns in a later chapter, I don’t have the time to try to find the character’s previous appearances. 

yWriter should make Nano easier, and editing easier. I’m glad. 

I need something to help with projects. It seems I drop them everywhere. I was creating three RPG books, a short novel series, editing a larger novel, and creating a Rogue-like video game. This is only scratching the surface. At the end of the day, I don’t finish stuff. This is one of my great flaws (besides being so darn handsome), and I know it. The problem is, what am I going to do about it.

So I continue to push toward little accomplishments. When I sold a book under a pseudonym, I felt like I had climbed mount Olympus. It turns out it was a foothill. I still need to learn to properly edit, to sell myself, to create proper promotion campaigns. I have a lot to learn, and I’m running out of youthful years.

Tell me what you think

